Patanjali Maharishi is the founder of the most authoritative, ancient, and legitimate system of Yoga. Patanjali is known as the author of Yoga Sutras.  There are 196 Sutras and some of them are very important. I will share 6 of the most important yoga quotes from Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.




Yoga Quotes from Patanjali’s Chapters


There are 196 Sutras. Patanjali also divided them into 4 chapters. I will share 6 most important yoga quotes from almost each chapter.


1.1 Atha yogānuśāsanam (Atha Yoga Anushasanam)

Meaning: Now an exposition of Yoga will be given.


This is Patanjali’s first aphorism. The meaning of the text corresponds to the literal element. Patanjali begins his work on defining the goal by revealing Yoga’s philosophy.


Yoga Quote in Sanskrit 1.1
Yoga Quote in Sanskrit 1.1


If you would like to understand the meaning of this yoga quote, please look at the meaning of each word in Sanskrit. This will help you deepen your knowledge.

  • Atha = now in this happy moment in this blessed transition / initiation; With the necessary preparation to initiate this theoretical and practical study voluminous
  • Yoga = union, which means sticking or integrating, shamadi
  • Anusasanam = anu + shasanam
  • Anu = belonging to a tradition which requires a previous training
  • Shasanam = instruction, discipline or training based on oral transmission over generations, in the living band (= active, handsome, lasting, strong, light, lit) between teacher and student.


1.2 Yogaścittavṛttinirodhaḥ (Yogas chitta vritti nirodha)

Meaning: Yoga is to control the modifications of the mind.


When the protests of mind consciousness, ie. thoughts, movements of mental energy, stop, the state of Samadhi begins.



Yoga Quote 1.2
Yoga Quote 1.2


  • Yoga: yoga, union, samadhi
  • Citta: the complex mind-consciousness, formed by ahāṃkara, buddhi and manas.
  • Vṛtti: modifications, movements, projections
  • Nirodha: control



1.21 Tīvrasaṁvegānāmāsannaḥ (tivra samvega asannah)

Meaning: The more intense faith and effort, the closer the goal will be.

Yoga Sutra 1.21
Yoga Sutra 1.21


  • Tivra = faster, faster
  • Samvega = impulse, force, vigor, conviction, enthusiasm
  • Asannah = very close, close, fast


1.23 Īśvarapraṇidhānādvā (ishvara pranidhana va)

Meaning: Product of a special process of devotion and abandonment or abandonment in the creative source from which we emerge (ishvara pranidhana), the advent of samadhi is imminent.

Yoga Sutra 1.23
Yoga Sutra 1.23

Patañjali recognizes that changing our mental state to yoga is hard. The believers of God will definitely help them reach the state of yoga. They will offer their daily prayers to God with a sense of submission to their power.

  • ishvara = creative force, pure consciousness, God, Guru or supreme teacher
  • pranidhana = practice the presence, sincerity, dedication, devotion, deliver the fruits of the practice
  • va: or


2.46 Sthirasukhamāsanam (sthira sukham asanam)


Meaning: An asana must have the double quality of alertness and relaxation.

We should be aware of both our body and our breath during our Yoga practice .

Starting an asana practice is easy but changing our attitudes is not. With your help it is possible, for most of us, to reduce the obstacles of yoga.

The practice of asana involves bodily exercises. The proper asana practice will create you an alert attitude, without any tension and relaxation without boredom or heaviness.

Yoga Sutra 2.46
Yoga Sutra 2.46


  • Sthira = stable, stable, motionless
  • Sukham = Comfortable, easy-to-use
  • Asanam = Meditation Position (from the root ~ which means “sitting”)


4.15 Vastusāmye cittabhedāttayorvibhaktaḥ panthāḥ

(vastu samye chitta bhedat tayoh vibhaktah panthah)

Meaning: The characteristics of an object are presented differently, depending on the various states of mind of the observer.

Different minds will see different things. A Hindu temple is a place of worship for a devout believer. It is an artistic monument for the tourist, a place to beg for the beggar. An atheist it is a place of ridicule.

Yoga Sutra 4.15
Yoga Sutra 4.15


  • Vastu = a reality, real object, existing
  • Samye = sameness
  • Chitta = mind, of the consciousness of the mind
  • Bhedat = diversity, difference
  • Tayoh = their, of the two
  • Vibhaktah = separation, division
  • Panthah = paths, levels of being, ways to perceive


I just shared the 6 quotes from Patanjali’s Sutras. I always try to remember them in my yoga practice in my daily life. You can also find more information about Patanjali in Yoga Sequencing Book of Mark Stephens.

Yoga Quote 2.46 is my favorite as it reminds me to be in the moment. Yoga Sutra 2.46 will make you stay in presence.

What is your favorite yoga quote from the Sutras of Patanjali?


Previous articleLooking for Hatha Yoga Sequencing Books?
Next articleHow to Use Yoga Blocks? Why Important?
I’ve always been enthusiastic about discovering myself, the life and the people. I realize that I have to live in the present moment in order to do that better. This is the mindfulness. Yoga has become the part of my life for more than 5 years. I also completed my teacher training program (RYT 200, Yoga Alliance) and I wanted to share my experiences with everyone. I believe that the articles on can help you reach out to the mindful state. Yoga is the Art of Mindfulness. Let's be present together. Namaste!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here